Use our databases to find journals, journal articles, primary documents, images, eBooks, and more.
If you are accessing databases while off-campus, simply click on the link for the database you wish to use. You will be directed to a login page automatically, prompting you to enter your Logan credentials.
Academic Search Complete
is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary, database with more than 8,500 full‐text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full‐text periodicals, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Black Thought and Culture
contains non-fiction works, interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other material of historically important African Americans. Along with well‐known works, the collection features approximately 5,000 pages of unique, fugitive, and never‐before‐published materials. Biographical essays by leading scholars and an annotated bibliography of the sources in the database are also featured.
New York Times Archives
is the complete full text of the New York Times with digital reproductions providing access to every page from every issue since its founding in 1851.
provides reports in a uniform format on social science topics along with podcasts, journal articles, statistics, reference sources, and links to appropriate websites.
Women and Social Movements, Scholars Edition
includes information, such as documents, reviews of books, films, and websites, teaching tools, and notes from the archives on women’s social movements in the United States from 1600-2000.
EBook Central (ProQuest)
is an academic database of digital titles selected to support curriculum requirements.
Ebooks Community College Collection (EBSCO)
includes the full text of eBooks selected by the librarians at John A. Logan College.
Discovering American Women's History Online
“This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.”
Gender, Equity and Human Rights/WHO
“The Gender, Equity and Human Rights Team catalyses, supports and coordinates the mainstreaming of gender, equity and human rights approaches in health at all levels of the World Health Organization.”
Learning for Justice
"Learning for Justice seeks to uphold the mission of the Southern Poverty Law Center: to be a catalyst for racial justice in the South and beyond, working in partnership with communities to dismantle white supremacy, strengthen intersectional movements and advance the human rights of all people."
National Park Service LGBTQ history
"As America’s storytellers, the National Park Service (NPS) is committed to telling the history of all Americans in all of its diversity and complexity. For many years, the rich histories of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer Americans have been erased through punishing laws and general prejudice—appearing sporadically in police proceedings, medical reports, military hearings, and immigration records."
Race Forward/Center for Social Inclusion
“Race Forward catalyzes movement building for racial justice. In partnership with communities, organizations, and sectors, we build strategies to advance racial justice in our policies, institutions, and culture.”
Valuing Diversity Project/APA
“Valuing diversity is what institutions and members of a community do to acknowledge the benefits of their differences and similarities. They intentionally work to build sustainable relationships among people and institutions with diverse membership.”
A Reference Librarian is available via email to answer questions, provide instruction, and help with research. Send inquiries to firstname.lastname@example.org. Also, we can come to your on or off-campus classes and provide in-person library instruction to your students. We can even do virtual library instruction!